فيسبوك تويتر
mailxpres.com

دليل عطلة موريشيوس

تم النشر في يونيه 17, 2021 بواسطة Claude Champany

نجح موريشيوس في وضع نفسه كوجهة شاطئية غريبة. مع وجهات الشاطئ وفيرة للغاية ، لم يتم الحفاظ على هذا عن طريق مجرد الضجيج ، ولكن من خلال المادة هناك للمطالبة. ينجذب الزوار إلى موريشيوس بسمعة شواطئها الرملية البيضاء التي يبلغ طولها 140 كم ، والفرص الممتازة للرياضات المائية. السباحة ، تمشيط الشاطئ ، الإبحار ، ركوب الأمواج ، التجديف ، الغوص وصيد الأسماك في أعماق البحار - هناك رياضة للجميع تقريبًا.

عثر التجار العرب على الجزيرة غير المأهولة في القرن العاشر. لكنهم لم يتم سحرهم بشكل كاف للنظر في التسوية الدائمة. هبط البرتغاليون في أوائل القرن التاسع عشر ، لكنهم مروا أيضًا بفرصة المطالبة بالحصول على ملكهم. ولكن في عام 1598 انتهز الهولنديون هذه الفرصة في نهاية المطاف. تم الاستيلاء على الجزيرة على اسم موريس ، أمير أورانج وكونت ناسو ، حاكم هولندا.

في القرن الذي تلت ذلك ، أنشأت الهولنديين المستوطنات والوسائل التي تم وضعها للعيش خارج الأرض. قاموا بتقديم السكر والتبغ ، والتي قاموا بزراعتها باستخدام عمالة الرقيق الأفريقية. لا يزال السكر الآن جزءًا مهمًا من السوق. كان الهولنديون غير حساسين للنظام الإيكولوجي الهش للغاية الذي يشكل جزيرة معزولة مثل موريشيوس. على ساعتهم ، سقطت غالبية الغابات الأصلية في الجزر ، وانخفضت. تم نقل الطائر الذي يسمى دودو أيضًا إلى الانقراض. وكذلك فعل الهولنديون السعيدون للحياة للقول "ميتًا مثل دودو".

الشجاعة الهولندية التي جعلت منهم القادة لم تستمر. لقد تعرضوا للعديد من التجارب من قوى الطبيعة - الأعاصير والجفاف والفيضانات. وعلى قوى الإنسان ، لأن القراصنة كانوا صداعًا مستمرًا. في عام 1710 ، هربوا إلى كيب الأمل الأكثر مضيافًا ، في الطرف الجنوبي لأفريقيا. بعد مرور خمس سنوات على غادر الهولنديين ، ادعى الفرنسيون أن الجزيرة التي أطلق عليها اسم Isle de France.

كان الفرنسيون أكثر نجاحًا من الهولنديين في تسخير إمكانات هذه الجزيرة. حافظوا على القانون والنظام ووضعوا أسس حكومة المجتمع. تحت الحاكم الفرنسي الشهير ، ماهي دي لابوردونيس ، بدأ بناء الأمة الحقيقية. قدم الفرنسيون في المزيد من الأميركيين الأفارقة وتوسيع المزيد من زراعة السكر. كما وضعوا بعض البنية التحتية الاقتصادية والاجتماعية لدعم المستوطنين. يعود بورت لويس ، الذي سمي على اسم الملك لويس الخامس عشر ، والآن عاصمة موريشيوس ، إلى هذه الفترة.

على الرغم من أن الفرنسيين قدموا أنظمة القانون والنظام ، إلا أن بورت لويس تبين أنها مفضلة لدى Corsairs. كان كورسرا مارين الذين تدربوا في نهب القوارب نيابة عن أمة عميل. كان للبريطانيين ، وهي قوة بحرية رائعة في ذلك الوقت ، مصلحة في إنهاء قدرة هؤلاء المرتزقة. وهكذا انخرط موريشيوس ، بعيدًا عن أوروبا ، في حروب نابليون. في عام 1810 ، أقنع البريطانيون بقوة الأسلحة العليا ، الفرنسيين بمغادرة الجزيرة.

من معاهدة باريس عام 1814 ، سمحت المستوطنون الفرنسيون بالبقاء في موريشيوس. لقد سمح لهم أيضًا بالحفاظ على ممتلكاتهم ولغتهم ودينهم ونظامهم القانوني. عاد البريطانيون إلى الاسم الذي أعطاه الهولندي الجزيرة ، لكن بورت لويس احتفظ بلقبها. لكن في القرن والنصف الذي حكموه البريطانيون ، لم يكونوا على ترسيخ مثل الفرنسيين.

ازدهر فرانكو الموريسيون على اقتصاد زراعي قائم على عمل الرقيق. لكن في عام 1835 ، اعتقدوا أن اليد المتقلبة لسلطة رائعة عندما تم إلغاء العبودية. ربما يكون هذا هو الإجراء الأكثر أهمية الذي تم تنفيذه بموجب الحكم البريطاني ، وكان للعواقب تأثير بعيد المدى على التركيبة السكانية المتطورة في البلاد. الهند ، مستعمرة بريطانية وفيرة في الموارد البشرية كانت الرد على مشكلة العمل التي نشأت. في السنوات التي تلت ذلك ، تضاعفت أحفاد العمال الهنود الذين جاءوا للعمل في حقول السكر بشكل كبير. كما جاء الصينيون -كعمال وتجار.

في الوقت الحاضر ، يشكل الهنود الموريسيون ما يقرب من 70 في المائة من السكان. كما هو الحال في المستعمرات الأخرى في تلك الفترة التاريخية ، وحتى ثلاثينيات القرن العشرين في موريشيوس ، كان من غير البيض قولًا محدودًا للغاية في إدارة البلاد. وهذا هو السبب في أن غاندي - هذا المحرر العظيم لعقول الرجال ، جاء إلى موريشيوس في عام 1901 ، وتحديداً لإعطاء القلب للهند من المهوريين. بعد سنوات من الامتيازات المطولة للحكم الديمقراطي ، انحنى البريطانيون في نهاية المطاف في عام 1968 ، عندما منحت أخيرًا الاستقلال.

الأحداث التي نناقشها أعلاه هي حديثة جدا. منذ حوالي ثمانية ملايين سنة ، خرجت الجزيرة من أعماق البحر بسبب العمل البركاني. يحتل 1860 كيلومتر مربع ، ويقع فوق مدار الجدي ، على بعد 890 كيلومترًا إلى الشرق من مدغشقر. يرتفع من البحر ، ويبلغ تكوين الهضبة المركزية حوالي 400 متر فوق مستوى سطح البحر. هناك جبال منتشرة في الجزيرة ، واثنين من القمم ، أعلى منها يصل إلى 820 متر.

بالنسبة للأمة ، يضم موريشيوس جزر رودريغز وأغاليغا ، و Cargados Carajos Shoals وعدد قليل من الجزر الأصغر إلى حد كبير. إن موريشيوس محاط بالكامل تقريبًا بشعاب مرجانية تشتهر بأنها ثالث أكبر في العالم. كان كل من الهولنديين والفرنسيين متهورين للغاية في السماح للغزو غير المنضبط للغابات الأصلية. الآن ، لا يزال أقل من 2 ٪ من هذه الغابات. العديد من ما يقرب من 700 نوع من النباتات الأصلية مهددة بالانقراض. ابتداءً من أواخر سبعينيات القرن العشرين ، كان هناك جهد متأخر ولكن منهجي للحفاظ على النباتات الخاصة في هذه الجزيرة.

الحياة البرية تواجه مخاطر مماثلة. في المقام الأول ، كانت الهجرة الحيوانية إلى الجزيرة المعزولة عن طريق البحر أو الهواء فقط ، مما يقيد بشكل كبير تنوع الأنواع. الحيوانات التي عثر عليها الهولندية تحتوي على الزواحف خارج الحجم والطيور التي لا طيران. ولكن باستثناء الخفافيش ، لم تكن هناك ثدييات ولا البرمائيات في أي جهة. تشمل الحيوانات التي أحضرت على متن القوارب من قبل الرجل الفئران والقرود - بفضل البرتغاليين ، في حين أن الهولنديين يحصلون على الفضل في الغزلان والخنزير البري. يهدد عدد من هذه الحيوانات بخنق حياة الأنواع المحلية - يأكلون بيضهم ، وكذلك صغارهم.

موريشيوس ليست كل الأخبار السيئة لمحبي الطبيعة -هناك الكثير من الطيور والحياة البحرية وفيرة. لكن بعض أنواع الطيور المستوطنة ، مثل موريشيوس كيستريل ، ببغاء صدى ورقم الحمام الوردي أكثر من بضع مئات. هذه تحت شكل من أشكال برنامج التربية الأسير ، مع توقع زيادة أعدادهم.

تفتخر المنطقة البحرية للجزيرة بأكثر من 1000 نوع من القشور البحرية والأسماك والرخويات ، بكميات تتجاوز العد. الطريقة الرائعة لاستكشاف العالم الرائع تحت الماء هي على متن غواصة. يتيح لك الفرع أيضًا رؤية بعض حطام السفن التي تعود إلى الفترة الهولندية.

يمكنك السباحة في أماكن مختلفة على الشواطئ والبحيرات والمداخل. شواطئ السباحة هي الأفضل في الشمال ، على الرغم من وجود مواقع ممتازة أخرى إلى الجنوب الغربي وإلى الغرب بالقرب من Flic en Flac. يوفر الساحل الغربي مواقع جيدة للتصفح في تمارين ، والغوص في Flic en Flac. في Grand Bay Shore ، تحصل على تسوق جيد للغاية ، ونوادي ، وحانات ، ومطاعم وفرصة للتفاعل مع السكان المحليين. بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، فإن السباحة وركوب الأمواج والإبحار وصيد الأسماك جيدة. من هنا ، يمكنك أيضًا إنشاء رحلة قارب من الجزر إلى الشمال.

من الداخل ، هناك فرص رائعة للمشي لمسافات طويلة والرحلات. يحتوي Black River Gorges National Park على مسارات ممتازة ، وفي نفس الوقت بالضبط ، من الممكن رؤية بعض الطيور والنباتات المستوطنة. تعد Réserve Forrestière Macchabée و Rivière Noire National Park جيدة أيضًا للمشي لمسافات طويلة. علاوة على ذلك ، فإن التكاثر الأسير لتعزيز كميات من الطيور المستوطنة المهددة بالانقراض في موريشيوس جارية هنا. بالنسبة إلى Trekkers ، قد تنجح في الهضبة في Curepipe وفي جزيرة Rodrigues.

تحظى الحدائق النباتية الملكية من Pamplemousses بشعبية كبيرة مع الناس. يعود تاريخ الحدائق إلى 1735 ، خلال الفترة الفرنسية. هنا سترى مجموعة ضخمة من النباتات الغريبة والمواطنة في بيئة ممتازة. واحدة من أكثر العينات الغريبة هي زنابق مياه فيكتوريا ريجيا العملاقة ، التي تكون جذورها من الأمازون ، والطالب النخيل المعروف أن تزدهر مرة كل 60 سنة قبل الهلاك. في حديقة Casela Bird ، يمكنك رؤية عدد من أنواع الطيور البالغ عددها 140 أنواعًا ، بما في ذلك الحمام الوردي النادر. يتم تضمين بعض هذه الرحلات في حزم Mauritius Tour التي يقدمها البائعون المتنوعون.

يوفر موريشيوس بعض ملاعب الجولف المتميزة ، وأصبح الناس أكثر وعياً بها. هناك ما لا يقل عن ثلاثة منتجعات مع 18 حفرة وخمسة أخرى مع فصول 9 حفرة. تعد دورة Ile Aux Cerfs ، التي تقع على جزيرة صغيرة خاصة بها هي الأكثر إثارة. بالنسبة لقضاء شهر العسل ، فإن الجزيرة ترحاب للغاية. تقريبًا جميع الفنادق تقدم حزمة عسل خاصة. بصفته غير مقيم ، من السهل ربط العقدة هنا. ولكن يجب الانتهاء من الإجراءات الرسمية ؛ كن على يقين من الامتثال قبل الوصول.

موريشيوس في الطرق الثقافية في أوروبا وأفريقيا وآسيا. وصل الهولنديون والفرنسيون والأفارقة والهنود والصينيين والبريطانيين تحت ستار أو آخر ، وقد أثروا الآن على شخصية الجزيرة والحياة الثقافية. على الرغم من أن الجزيرة الأقرب إلى إفريقيا جغرافيا ، إلا أن ثقافياها أقرب إلى آسيا.

أكبر المجموعات العرقية هي الهندو-الموريسيون الذين يشكلون حوالي ثلثي تلك البلدان 1.2 مليون شخص ، تليها الكريول- من الأفرو الموريانيين الذين يزيد عددهم عن ربع السكان. يشكل فرانسو موريشيون وأفراد من أصل صيني مجتمعة حوالي 5 في المائة من السكان. في حين أن اللغة الإنجليزية هي اللغة الرسمية ، فإن الفرنسية والكريول و Bhojpuri و Urdu يتحدثان على نطاق واسع. الدين هو متغير آخر يحدد شعب هذه الجزيرة ، مع الهندوسية (51 ٪) ، والمسيحية (30 ٪) والإسلام (17 ٪) قيادة.

يعكس مطبخ الجزيرة تنوع شعبها. الأطعمة الفرنسية ، الكريول ، الصينية والهندية - مع الاختلافات المحلية جميعها موجودة هنا. أينما بقيت ، من المحتمل أن تكون قادرًا على مراقبة أو حتى الرقص على SEGA. هذا الرقص الكريول النشط والحساس له جذور في حقول السكر ، في الأيام التي كان فيها المخاض الأفريقي أسير. قد تكون محظوظًا أيضًا لتجربة أي من المهرجانات العديدة التي يتم الاحتفال بها في هذا البلد. ومع ذلك ، فإن الأكثر زيارة على نطاق واسع ، ستكون جاهزة للكافادي. مع هذا المهرجان التاميل الخاص ، يخترق التائبين أجسادهم وألسنتهم وخدينهم بينما يسير آخرون على أحذية المخالب.

السياحة هي واحدة من الركائز الرئيسية لاقتصاد موريشيوس. غالبية الزوار يأتي من جنوب إفريقيا وألمانيا وفرنسا وأستراليا والمملكة المتحدة. الفنادق في موريشيوس كثيرة ، وهي تختلف من رفاهية 5 نجوم إلى الأشخاص الذين لديهم وسائل الراحة الأساسية فقط. لا تزال الميزانية لا تزال في شكل بنغلات ، وبيوت الضيوف والشقق ذاتية الخدمة. الفترة من يونيو إلى سبتمبر وحول عيد الميلاد هي الفترة المزدحمة ، وإذا كنت تخطط للسفر ، فأنت تنصح بحجز إقامتك في وقت مبكر. لا يزال موريشيوس رخيصًا نسبيًا ، على الرغم من أنه كان هناك حديث عن تحويله في وجهة شاطئ السوق.

موريشيوس وجهة على مدار العام. ومع ذلك ، فإن أفضل الأوقات التي يمكن رؤيتها هي الفواصل الزمنية في أبريل إلى يونيو وسبتمبر- نوفمبر. هذه هي الأشهر التي تمطر فيها على الأقل ودرجات الحرارة معتدلة. من يناير إلى أبريل هي الأكثر سخونة ، ويمكن أن تصل درجات الحرارة خلال النهار إلى 35 درجة مئوية. عادة ما تكون درجات الحرارة أقل داخلية ، بعيدًا عن الشاطئ. تأتي الأمطار الرئيسية بين ديسمبر وأبريل ، على الرغم من وجود هطول أمطار خفيفة على مدار السنة. من نوفمبر إلى فبراير عندما يكون من المرجح أن تحدث الأعاصير. لكن لا تشجعك ؛ احتمالات اجتماع الأعاصير ليست عالية جدًا ، ومن المتوقع أن تضرب الجزيرة مرة واحدة كل 15 عامًا تقريبًا.

إذا كنت حريصًا على الرياضات المائية ، فتذكر أن الغوص هو الأفضل من ديسمبر إلى مارس ، وركوب الأمواج بين يونيو وأغسطس. لصيد الأسماك الكبيرة ، تأتي بين أكتوبر وأبريل. يجب أن تكون مرتاحًا للملابس الخفيفة المناسبة للمناخ الاستوائي. ومع ذلك ، فأنت بحاجة إلى ملابس أكثر دفئًا للأمسيات وشهور الشتاء الجنوبية بين يوليو وسبتمبر. مهما كان الوقت الذي تسافر فيه ، قم بحمل بعض ملابس المطر. في أشهر الصيف بين نوفمبر وأبريل ، يُنصح بإحضار النظارات الشمسية وقبعات الشمس واقي من الشمس.

Share This Page On Facebook Share This Page On Twitter
mailxpres.com

Mauritius Vacation Guide

Posted on January 8, 2020 by Claude Champany

Mauritius has successfully managed to position itself as an exotic beach destination. With beach destinations so plentiful, this has been sustained not by mere hype, but by the substance there is to the claim. Visitors are drawn to Mauritius by the reputation of its 140 km of white sand beaches, and the excellent opportunities for water sports. Swimming, beach combing, sailing, surfing, kayaking, diving and deep-sea fishing - there's a sport for almost everyone.

Arab traders found the then uninhabited island in the 10th century. But they weren't charmed adequately to consider permanent settlement. The Portuguese early in the nineteenth century landed, but they also passed over the opportunity to lay claim to get their king. But in 1598 the Dutch eventually seized the opportunity. The island has been seized for and named after Maurice, Prince of Orange and Count of Nassau -then ruler of the Netherlands.

In the century that followed, the Dutch established settlements and devised means to live off the land. They introduced sugar and tobacco, which they farmed using African slave labor. Sugar is now still an important part of the market. The Dutch were insensitive to the extremely fragile ecosystem which makes up an isolated island such as Mauritius. On their watch, the majority of the islands' native forests were felled, and dropped. The bird called dodo was also taken to extinction. So did the trigger-happy Dutch give life to the saying"as dead as a dodo".

The Dutch courage that had made them leaders was nevertheless not to last. They were subjected to a lot of trials from the forces of nature - cyclones, droughts and floods. And by the forces of man, for pirates were a constant headache. In 1710, they fled to the more hospitable Cape of Good Hope, at Africa's southern tip. A short five years after the Dutch left, the French claimed the islandand renamed it Isle de France.

The French were a lot more successful than the Dutch in harnessing the potential of this island. They maintained law and order and laid the foundations for government of society. Underneath the celebrated French Governor, Mahé de Labourdonnais, real nation building started. The French introduced in more African Americans and enlarged further sugar farming. They also laid out a few economic and social infrastructure to support the settlers. Port Louis, named after King Louis XV, and now the capital of Mauritius, dates back to this period.

Although the French had introduced systems of law and order, Port Louis turned out to be a favorite of corsairs. Corsairs were marine who coached in the plunder of boats on behalf of a client nation. The British, a terrific sea power at the time, had a vested interest in terminating the ability of these mercenaries. And that's how Mauritius, so far away from Europe, got involved in the Napoleonic wars. In 1810, the British supported by superior force of arms, persuaded the French to leave the island.

From the 1814 Treaty of Paris, the British - magnanimous victors really, let the French settlers to stay in Mauritius. They too were permitted to keep their property, language, religion and legal system. The British reverted to the name that the Dutch had given the island, but Port Louis retained its title. But in the century and a half which the British ruled, they were not really as grounded as the French was.

Franco-Mauritians prospered on an agrarian economy based on slave labor. But in 1835, they believed that the capricious hand of a wonderful power when slavery was abolished. This is possibly the single most important measure carried out under British rule, and the consequences had a far-reaching influence on the evolving demographics of the country. India, a British colony greatly abundant in human resources was the reply to the labor problem that arose. In the years that followed, the descendants of the Indian labourers who came to work the sugar fields greatly multiplied. The Chinese also came -as labourers and dealers.

Nowadays, Indo-Mauritians constitute close to 70 percent of the populace. As in other colonies in that historical period, and upto the 1930's in Mauritius, non-whites had very limited say in the running of the country. And that's why Gandhi - that great liberator of men's minds, came to Mauritius in 1901, specifically to give heart to Indo-Mauritians. After years of protracted concessions to democratic rule, the British eventually bowed out in 1968, when finally granted independence.

The events we discuss above are nevertheless very recent. Approximately eight million years ago, the island emerged from the depths of the sea due to volcanic action. Occupying 1860 sq km, it's located just above the Tropic of Capricorn, 890 kilometers to the east of Madagascar. Rising from the sea, the central plateau formation is about 400 m above sea level. There are mountains scattered in the island, and a couple of peaks, the highest of which reaches 820 m.

For a nation, Mauritius includes the islands of Rodrigues and Agalega, the Cargados Carajos Shoals and a few smaller largely uninhabited islands. Mauritius is almost wholly ringed by a coral reef that is reputed to be the worlds third largest. Both the Dutch and the French were extremely reckless in allowing the uncontrolled invasion of native forests. Now, less than 2% of these forests remain. Many of the almost 700 species of native plants are threatened with extinction. Beginning from the late 1970's, a belated but systematic effort was underway to conserve the special flora of this island.

The wildlife faces similar risks. In the first place, animal migration into the isolated island was by sea or air only, greatly restricting the diversity of species. The animals the Dutch found contained out-of-size reptiles and flightless birds. But except for bats, there were no mammals and no amphibians in any respect. The animals brought aboard boats by man include rats and monkeys - thanks to the Portuguese, while the Dutch take credit for deer and wild boar. A number of those animals threaten to choke out the life of native species - they eat their eggs, as well as their young.

Mauritius isn't all bad news for nature lovers' -there are loads of birds and marine life is abundant. But some of the endemic bird species, such as Mauritius kestrel, echo parakeet and pink pigeon number more than a few hundred. These are under some form of captive breeding program, with the expectation of increasing their numbers.

The island's marine zone boasts over 1,000 species of marine life- shells, fishes and mollusks, in amounts beyond count. The magnificent way to explore the spectacular underwater world is onboard a submarine. The sub also lets you see some ship wrecks dating back to the Dutch period.

You are able to swim at different places at beaches, lagoons and inlets. Swimming beaches are best to the north, even though there are other excellent sites to the southwest and to the west near Flic en Flac. The west coast provides good sites for browsing at Tamarin, and diving at Flic en Flac. At Grand Bay shore, you get very good shopping, clubs, bars, and restaurants and the opportunity to interact with locals. Additionally, the swimming, surfing, sailing and fishing is good. From here, you may also create a boat trip of the islands to the north.

From the islands' inside, there are great opportunities for hiking and trekking. Black River Gorges National Park has excellent walks, and at precisely the exact same time it is possible to see some endemic birds and plants. The Réserve Forrestière Macchabée and Rivière Noire National Park are also good for hiking. Moreover, captive breeding to boost the amounts of Mauritius endangered endemic birds is underway here. For trekkers, you may succeed in the plateau at Curepipe and in the island of Rodrigues.

The Royal Botanical Gardens of Pamplemousses are very popular with people. The gardens date back to 1735, during the French period. Here you'll see a huge collection of exotic and native plants in excellent environment. One of the most peculiar specimens would be the giant Victoria regia water lilies, whose roots are from the Amazon, and the talipot palm- known to blossom once every 60 years before perishing. In the Casela Bird Park, you can see a number of its 140 bird species, including the rare Mauritian pink pigeon. Some of these excursions are included in the Mauritius tour packages offered by the assorted vendors.

Mauritius provides some outstanding golf courses, and people are becoming more and more conscious of it. There are at least three resorts with 18-hole classes and another five with 9-hole classes. The Ile aux Cerfs course, which sits on its own tiny island is the most spectacular. For honeymooners, the island is very welcoming. Virtually all hotels offer a special honeymoon package. As a non-resident, it is simple to tie the knot here. But a couple of formalities must be completed with officialdom; be certain to comply before arrival.

Mauritius is in the cultural cross roads of Europe, Africa and Asia. The Dutch, French, Africans, Indians, Chinese and British arrived under one guise or another and have now influenced the character and cultural life of the island. Although the island is closest to Africa geographically, culturally it's significantly closer to Asia.

The largest racial groups are Indo-Mauritians who constitute about two thirds of those countries 1.2 million individuals, followed by Creoles - Afro- Mauritians who are just over a quarter of the populace. Franco- Mauritians and individuals of Chinese origin combined constitute about 5 percent of the populace. While English is the official language, French, Creole, Bhojpuri and Urdu are widely spoken. Religion is another variable defining the people of this island, with Hinduism (51%), Christianity (30%) and Islam (17%) leading.

The cuisine of the island reflects the diversity of its people. French, Creole, Chinese and Indian foods - with local variations are all found here. Wherever you stay, you'll probably be able to observe or even dancing the Sega. This energetic and sensual Creole dance has roots in the sugar fields, in the days when African labor was captive. You might also be fortunate to experience any of the numerous festivals celebrated in this country. Just the most widely visited however, will be ready for the Cavadi. With this particular Tamil festival, penitents pierce their bodies, tongues, and cheeks while others march on shoes of claws.

Tourism is one of the key pillars of the economy of Mauritius. The Majority of visitors come from South Africa, Germany, France, Australia and UK. Hotels in Mauritius are a lot, and they vary from 5-star luxury to people with only basic amenities. Budget remain comes in the shape of bungalows, guesthouses and self-catering flats. The period June to September and around Christmas is the busy period and if you're planning to travel then, you're advised to book your accommodation ahead of time. Mauritius is still relatively cheap, though there's been talk of turning it in an up market beach destination.

Mauritius is a yearlong destination. The best times to see however, are the intervals April-June and September- November. These are the months when it rains least and the temperatures are mild. January to April is hottest, and daytime temperatures can reach 35°C. Temperatures are normally lower inland, away from the shore. The main rains come between December and April, although there are mild rains year round. November to February is when cyclones are most likely to happen. But don't be discouraged; odds of meeting cyclones aren't very high, and it's projected that they hit on the island about once every 15 years.

If you're keen on water sports, then remember that diving is best December to March, and surfing between June and August. For big game fishing, come between October and April. You should be comfortable with light clothes appropriate for the tropical climate. However, you need warmer clothing for evenings and the southern winter months between July and September. Whatever time of year you travel, do carry some rainwear. In the summer months between November and April, you're advised to bring along sunglasses, sun hats and sunscreen.